Atherton High School Alumni Association
Hall of Fame 3000 Dundee Road
Louisville, Kentucky 40205
Skip Navigation Links
Sign Up
Registered Graduates
2024 Alumni Association Officers
Annual Fund Drive
2024 Nomination Form
2023 The Vicky Award
Upcoming Reunions
Special Events
Giving Back
2024 Hall of Fame Committee
2023 Inductees
2022 Inductees
2020-2021 Inductees
2019 Inductees
2018 Inductees
2017 Inductees
2016 Inductees
2015 Inductees
2014 Inductees
2013 Inductees
2012 Inductees
2011 Inductees
2010 Inductees
2009 Inductees
2008 Inductees
2007 Inductees
2006 Inductees
2005 Inductees
2004 Inductees
2003 Inductees
2002 Inductees
School Song
Class Links
AHS Website
Contact Us
Committee Login

Members by Class Year

  2004 Atherton High School Alumni Association Hall of Fame Inductees
  In 2001, a small alumni group gathering at Atherton High school had the vision of honoring Atherton alumni who have contributed to our community and our country. Through this vision senators, a brigadier general, authors, teachers, university presidents, doctors, financiers, congressmen, entrepreneurs, a ballerina and more have been welcomed home to Atherton High School and inducted into the Atherton Alumni Association Hall of Fame. Our list is distinguished, impressive, and inspiring to each of us. It is especially important for the students of Atherton High School to witness this rich legacy.

Top row, left to right
John Hall, Rick Van Hoose, Charles Shearer, David Graves, Scott Duke Middle row, left to right Kevin Collins, Dennis Berman, Bill Yarmuth, Steve Trager
Seated, left to right
Alana Nash, Wanda Riddle, Nancy Minton, Eugene Minton's widow), Barbara Byrd Fendley
Inductee Year Graduated Biographical Data
Dennis Berman 1992 * Pulitzer Prize winning journalist for Explanatory Journalism, Wall Street Journal, 2002 * Business Week magazine reporter, 1996 * Most Likely to Succeed * Editor-in-chief The Aerial, 1992
W. Kevin Collins 1973 *President and CEO, Collins Auto Group *Chairman, Greater Louisville Automobile Dealers Association * Board Member, Ford Motor Company National Dealer Council * Vice President, Atherton High School Alumni Association
Scott G. Duke 1970 * Lieutenant Colonel, U.S. Marine Corps * Winner of the Bronze Star, Legion of Merit, Meritorious Service Medals * Chief of Operations, Afghanistan * Commanding Officer, Special Operations Command, Yemen * Chief of the Operations, Plans and Information Division, Tennessee Governor’s Office of Homeland Security
Barbara Byrd Fendley 1966 * Principal, South Oldham High School * Teacher for 23 years, Manual * Jefferson County Teacher of the Year, Kentucky Science Teacher of the Year * Milkin Award Recipient
David Graves 1962 * President and CEO, Brooklawn Youth Services * Executive Director, Home of The Innocents, 1979-1991 * Founder, Citizens Advocacy program for the Council on Mental Retardation * Peace Corps, Uruguay, 1966-1968
John R. Hall, Ph.D 1964 * Professor of Sociology, University of Missouri, Columbia, 1976-1989 * Professor of Sociology and Director of the Center for History, Society, and Culture, University of California-Davis * Noted Author * Graduated top five, Yale University
Eugene Minton Teacher/Coach 1965-1983 * History Teacher, Assistant Football Coach, Golf Coach, Head Basketball Coach, Athletic Director
Alana Nash 1968 * Writer, Entertainment Weekly, USA Weekend, Reader’s Digest, New York Times * Author of six books, including Golden Girl:The Story of Jessica Savitch * Society of Professional Journalists’ National Member of the Year, 1994 * Noted American country music writer
Wanda Riddle 1974 * Captain, U.S. Navy * Research Division Officer, Operations Department Head, Naval Facility, Coos Head, Oregon * Commanded Naval Support Activity, Mid-South, Memphis, Tennessee, 2001-2003 * Deputy Director, Navy Staff, The Pentagon
Charles L Shearer Ph.D 1960 * President, Transylvania University
Steve Trager 1979 * Chairman and CEO, Republic Bank * President and CEO, Republic Bancorp * Board Member, Kentucky Banker’s Association, Fund for the Arts, University of Louisville Board of Overseers, Louisville Bar Association * Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year, Southern Kentucky and Kentucky region, 2003
Rick Van Hoose 1979 * Lead News Anchor, WLKY-TV 32-CBS * 2002 Media Person of the Year, 2002 * Board Member, Wayside Christian Mission, Child Assault Prevention Organization
William Yarmuth 1970 * President and CEO, Caretenders and Almost Family * Board of Directors, Kentucky Center
 2002  | 2003  | 2005  | 2006  | 2007  | 2008  | 2009  | 2010  | 2011  | 2012  | 2013  | 2014  | 201520162017201820192020-202120222023